Skip to main content
Header Image


Donors (1)
Image Donor
Shippensburg University Psychology Department

The Psychology Department of Shippensburg University established this scholarship in 1996 to honor Dr. George Kaluger and Dr. Harry D. Sweely for their illustrious careers as faculty members and chairs of the Psychology Department at Shippensburg University. Dr. Kaluger joined the faculty of Shippensburg State Teachers College in 1953 and was cited as a pioneer in research, publication, and teaching concerned with learning disabilities and for the publication of several books that have advanced the frontiers of knowledge and understanding of human development. He retired in 1989, after 36 years of service to Shippensburg University. Dr. Sweely graduated as an education major from Shippensburg State Teachers College, and was renowned for his teaching excellence and his total commitment to serving his students, department, and SU. He retired in 1990 after 29 years as a faculty member at Shippensburg University.
Scholarships associated with Shippensburg University Psychology Department
  • George Kaluger-Harry D. Sweely Psychology Chair Scholarship